Menu
Expat.com

Moving to Chiang Mai

Last activity 28 July 2012 by BaanpongLodge

hrican

My wife and I are in the planning stages for a move to Chiang Mai. She is a Thai/ American Citizen, I am Hawaiian. She has family in Chiang Mai Saraphi, Bangkok and Lopburi., she is a former of Hawaii Child Enforcement agent for Hawaii's Attorney General and now is a Real Estate Salesperson and I am a Adjunct Professor teaching Computer Certification. Obviously we want to retire. So Hello to all if everything goes as planned we should arrive about September.

(Moderated)

ALOHA

GuestPoster307

Take a look in paradise-development.com/holiday.rentals

Had two retired police officers from Honolulu staying one month with us... they loved Chiang Mai.smile.png

hrican

From my visits to CM I really loved the place, I had lived in Bkk, Korat, and  Pattaya, I believe CM suits a 80 year old married 40  years, for a retirement venue, All my Hawaiian friends  agree.

Aloha

Neil-cnx

Aloha Hrican:

I came here from Honolulu full time in 1998 (1350 Ala Moana Blvd). I was a real estate developer and did a little of that here as well. Now I design and build houses for others. Send me an email and we can discuss.

Neil Alper

hrican

Mahalo for the info,however my wife just returned after 30 days visiting the family, she took the trip to decide if she really wanted to return. The answer surprised me, I quess after 40years, being educated, and working as an agent for the Attorney Generals office she has decided that home was not for her, even though they family is well off. I quess after 40 years, she prefers her Line Dancing and social interaction in the mainland and Hawaii. It is hard to leave an environment of recognition to go to another place where she wold be just another Thai older person. C'est la vie.

Neil-cnx