Expat.com

PR October 2022

Last activity 05 October 2024 by cmanjali2002

Unknown2022

Hello all,

please assess my PR chances:

Profile - Single, Male, Indian

Age - 26

Education - Advance diploma and Bachelors In Information technology (Both from Singapore)

Material status - Single

Duration in Singapore - 5 years

Salary - $65K per year (excluding bonus)

Current Visa: S Pass

Industry: Cyber Security

Company: Big 4

Newbiey

@Unknown2022

chance is low. due to race and salary..

SkyCharm

@Unknown2022

you did bachelors here right? Usually those who do 3-4 year degrees here get it Ive heard.

I have an indian friend with PhD in his 30s and slightly higher base salary to yours who got PR.

so my take is your chances are HIGH

Shekhz

@Unknown2022

Question- Have you read through the posts in the forum on PR specifically?

Secondly, how are you contributing to the SG economy?

Or, is there anything transformational you are doing that locals don’t?

What about social integration?

I ask because - being 26 years old, having a local degree or earning a decent salary are not the only criteria for securing a PR.

Shekhz

@SkyCharm

Studying in SG and getting a degree is a merit, not the only decisive factor that gets you a PR.

Salary, Social Integration, Skill set, Race/ Ethincity (since quotas apply)- Question to ask yourself, how are you different from the 1000+ other applicants?

SkyCharm

@Shekhz Just shared something I have so frequently heard and seen.

The PR approvals I have heard here as of late are those who have studied for 3 years+ (poly, bachelors or PhD) in SG. 

I believe studying here for 3 years+ and subsequently working does prove ones commitment to remain here.

SkyCharm

@SkyCharm

I had a friend who worked in a uni, and he used to tell me all the local PhDs who applied got PR, even though the salaries weren't that much.

This is a general case too I think, even in other countries for local research degrees and sometimes even fro foreign ones.