Menu
Expat.com

Maintaining my PR application status

Last activity 16 November 2022 by bryantlc93

karencaution

Hi, I got accepted as a PR this year. However, I'm not very clear on how to maintain my PR status. I read somewhere on my documents that in order to extend my PR after 5 years, I've to pay taxes/CPF for the last 3 years. My friend who is a PR said, she got a few friends who didn't pay but still want to extend the PR. They were interviewed and as a result, got extension like 1 year instead of 5 years. If I pay taxes/CPF consistently, there should be no problem for my PR to be extended.

My questions are:

1. I'm planning to go back to uni, if at the end of 5 year period of my PR I haven't finished my studies or only paid taxes/CPF only for the last 1 year, its still problematic right? At worst case scenario, will I be converted to student pass in case I'm still studying?

2. Is it possible for me to study while working, so that I still can pay my CPF? Do people do this to maintain their PR status?

3. Regarding question 2, I'm confused about how much salary is required to pay CPF? If my part time job salary is 500$/month, is it still able to use to pay CPF? If my salary changed from 5000 to 2000 due to changing to part time job, will it cause problem when I try to extend my PR?

Thanks a lot

beppi

First, let me clear up a common miscopnception here:

Your PR status does NOT expire after 5 years, only your re-entry permit does.

It is possible to stay in Singapore as PR indefinitely without re-entry permit, as long as you never leave the country! (Whether that is practical, in such a small country, is of course another matter.)

If you got your PR through the PTS scheme (meaning because you worked here long enough) and worked, paid tax (and CPF if applicable) for three of the five years, then your re-entry permit is renewed without further questions asked.